Ohio Council of Retail Merchants President awarded Lifetime Achievement Award

Be the first to comment | This entry was posted in Events, Public Policy, Video

During a members-only luncheon on Tuesday at Retail’s BIG Show, the National Retail Federation took time to honor John C. Mahaney Jr., president and CEO of the Ohio Council of Retail Merchants, for leadership to the retail industry spanning more than 60 years. Mahaney was awarded NRF’s J. Thomas Weyant Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment to the industry as a state retail association professional.

Known affectionately as “The Chief,” Mahaney is credited with unifying Ohio’s business interests and partnering with state representatives and governors on retail’s priorities. But Mahaney’s proudest achievement is the accomplished group of alumni he helped mold as the head of OCRM, an alumni that includes NRF President and CEO Matthew Shay. As Mahaney said in his acceptance speech, “I’ll take [the Weyant Award] back to the staff in their honor and those who preceded them.” In a quick video below, watch as House Speaker John Boehner, Ohio Governor John Kasich and others praise “The Chief” for his dedication and leadership.

Posted in: Events | Public Policy | Video and tagged ,
Interact: Permalink | Post a comment

Post a Comment

  • Posting Policy

    NRF welcomes intelligent discussion and debate from our community. We do insist that all comments must be expressed in a mature and civil tone of voice. Individuals posting rude or otherwise inappropriate material will lose their access to the discussion.

    Thank you,

    Note: While anonymous comments are welcome, they are also moderated and may not be posted immediately. If you don't see your comment, please be patient, as it will be reviewed and posted soon if appropriate. Please do not post your comment a second time. Thank you.

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>